OneNote in your Pocket

November 2, 2009 at 11:36 am | Posted in Collaboration | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

MobileNterIn a previous blog entry I described my experiences using the beta version of MobileNoter to access my Microsoft OneNote notebooks from my iPhone, while out and about.  Remarkably, the development team had managed to include everything planned for the first production release in the beta and it had proven very stable and (at least in my opinion) extremely useful. 

So, it comes as no surprise that the release of v1.0 (which is currently in review for the iPhone Appstore and is expected to launch in around 2 weeks time) contains more features, taken from the beta testers’ wish list.  You’ll find all the details of these new features in the MobileNoter development blog, so I’ll just point out the highlights:

  • Better use of iPhone features (landscape mode and swipe to delete quick notes);
  • Better implementation of the OneNote structure, including Section Groups and Sub-pages.

However, I’m particularly pleased to see some enhancements to the solution’s security features.  Firstly, both the iPhone app and the Windows sync client will optionally support encryption of data at rest on the MobileNoter servers.  AES-256 encryptionEntering a passcode in the Phone app is offered with a symmetric key which must be entered into both components.  As always with symmetric encryption systems, the devil will be in the detail of how to manage the shared secret.  The second feature implements an optional pass code in order to be able to access the iPhone app.  While I see and support the logic of providing protection against someone accessing data on a lost, stolen or even unattended iPhone, I have a concern over the implementation.   The screen shot shows that the app is expecting a 4 digit numeric-only pass code.   Based on the PIN used to secure our use of ATMs, this only gives 9,999 unique combinations.  This is generally considered enough to protect access to an ATM where the time to enter each combination is significant and the machine (and the intruder) are in plain sight.  However, a lost or stolen iPhone can be attacked off-line, with no witnesses.  So, the utility of this protection depends on whether intruder lock-out is implemented.   Then there’s the question of how do you reset intruder lock-out if you make a mistake?  A simpler solution would be to forego some of the capabilities of the iPhone’s UI and just offer a text box, which masks entries and gives no clues as to length or composition.  Do security and usability always have to be a zero sum game?

The final point to note on the upcoming release is that it will require payment of a subscription.   Comments on the development blog have criticised this decision, but the MobileNoter team (rightly in my opinion) point out that they have to maintain the servers and storage to implement the solution.  Unlike the development costs for the two software components, which can be apportioned over the predicted number of users, these infrastructure costs are both variable and recurring.

For those that really object to the subscription model, a variant is planned for the near future, which will link directly over wi-fi between the iPhone app and the Windows sync client.  This will be offered for a onetime payment.  

Personally, I think the small cost ($15 per year) is well worth paying for the utility I get from this solution, especially since this includes free support and upgrades.  There are plans (still at an early stage) to make this work with cloud storage solution, like Microsoft’s Live Mesh.  That’s more than enough to keep me involved to see how the solution evolves over time. 

MobileNoter isn’t the only way to synchronise OneNote notebook content onto your iPhone, but to me it’s the simplest and most elegant – and that’s worth $15 of my money any day.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] OneNote in your Pocket « Vintage1951 vintage1951.wordpress.com/2009/11/02/onenote-in-your-pocket – view page – cached November 2, 2009 at 11:36 am | In Collaboration | Leave a Comment Tags: cloud, iPhone, Microsoft OneNote, MobileNoter — From the page […]

  2. I haven’t got the sophistication of mobile communications, but I am finding One Note useful now you have lead me to look at it. It is a good place to store, and easily get back to, snippets of information collected from the web that I may want to collated together at a later date. I am also finding it useful in collating my research of my late father’s Royal Navy war service in River Class Frigates in the Mediterranean. It’s much easier than filing stuff as individual word documents that I could never remember the content of.

  3. Awesome blogpost, didn’t thought reading this would be so interesting when I read the title with link.

  4. […] OneNote, iPhone and Wi-Fi January 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm | In Collaboration | Leave a Comment Tags: cloud, iPhone, Microsoft OneNote, MobileNoter, Wi-fi I’ve written several times about how my new life as an independent consultant requires me to organise large amounts of (often unstructured) information and to share it across my desktop PC and my laptop, for when I’m working away.  At the heart of this strategy is Microsoft’s OneNote 2007 and, like many other users, I was desperately keen to find a way to copy all that information to my brand new iPhone.  So, when MobileNoter was released for public beta, I was quick to sign up.  The first version was released to GA in November last year and I’ve been successfully using it ever since. […]

  5. […] it might not be appropriate (or practical) to use the laptop, what’s needed is to be able to sync the contents of those note books (complete with formatting) to your iPhone – and that facility is provided very simply and cost effectively, using […]

  6. […] and synchronise it between an office PC and a laptop.  I’ve also written about how this synchronisation can be extended to the iPhone.  In the corporate environment, collaboration using OneNote notebooks can be managed through the […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

